Sesame Soba Noodles

12 Aug

ImageRemember me??

It’s been a while since my last post.  No, I haven’t stopped cooking.  I haven’t been on some tropical summer excursion.  It’s simply this: I hate my kitchen!  It’s low on counter space and natural light – especially in the evenings when I do most of my cooking – making it difficult to take the pictures I want to take.

But enough complaining.  Let’s make some sesame soba noodles!

Image

ImageYou may have noticed that what we chose to stuff our homemade tortillas with, before we stuffed them into our faces, was meatless.  You may have also noticed the addition of a Vegan category on the sidebar of the blog.

If you noticed both of those things, you earn a “Fancy Apron Super Fan” badge!  Congrats!

But the point is, we have adopted a *mostly* vegan diet, and we’ve kept it up for about 6 months now!  It’s been a fun adventure for us, and we’re feeling great about our food choices.  By *mostly* vegan, I mean that we are trying to keep our consumption of animal products (including dairy, eggs and, of course, meat and seafood) to around 5% of our overall diet.  We also don’t mind eating honey, and although we don’t have it very often, it’s a vegan no-no, so we can’t call ourselves true vegans.

I say “adventure” and not “challenge” because it’s been surprisingly easy.  We both love vegetables, grains and beans, and when any cravings strike, we’ve been amazed that there is a vegan swap for just about anything you could ever want from the animal kingdom.  We’ve even started up and hosted a vegan supper club!

But back to the noodles.

ImageWhen you adopt a vegetarian or vegan diet, one of the things that can be difficult is eating outside of the home.  If you don’t live in L.A. or Seattle or New York, there just aren’t a lot of options for you at restaurants.  You gotta be prepared.  So I made a HUGE batch of these sesame soba noodles for us to eat throughout the week.

ImageThe dressing is cool, creamy and nutty.  The veggies are versatile – use whatever you like or have on hand.  The kale, peppers and carrots I put in mine will hold up well throughout the week and stay crunchy.  Green onion and/or purple cabbage would also be nice.  I added edamame for a different texture and added protein.

This is a great summer side dish at lunch time or a picnic, and a good replacement for those other cold creamy sides that are not as healthy (you know who you are, macaroni and potato salad).  And it’s something that vegans, non-vegans and *mostly* vegans can all enjoy!

ImageSesame Soba Noodles

Dressing:

  • 1 cup water
  • 4-6 Tbs tahini
  • 2-3 Tbs soy sauce
  • 1 Tbs sesame oil
  • Half a lemon, juiced
  • 1 tsp freshly grated ginger
  • Sriracha to taste

Salad:

  • 1 package of buckwheat soba noodles (I used one whole package and a small amount of another package I had in the pantry because I wanted to use it up.  That’s why my noodles are two different colors!)
  • 2 medium carrots
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 3-4 large leaves of kale, stems removed
  • Heaping half cup of cooked edamame
  • 1 Tbs of sesame oil
  • Sesame seeds
  • Salt to taste
  1. Cook the noodles according to the package directions.  Rinse with cold water and set aside to drain completely.
  2. Whisk, shake or blend the dressing ingredients to taste.  You can use my measurements as a starting guide, but adjust to your own preference.  NOTE: the dressing will be thin.
  3. Grate the carrots, julienne the peppers and chop the kale.
  4. Toss cold, drained noodles with the sesame oil to coat.
  5. Add veggies and edamame to the noodles and drizzle on about half of the dressing.
  6. Get in there with tongs and start mixing it up.  Add more dressing as you need it to get everything mixed and lightly coated.  You probably won’t use it all, but go ahead and hang on to the leftover dressing just in case.  It might need more after a night in the fridge.  If not, you can probably use the dressing on something else later in the week!**
  7. Sprinkle on some sesame seeds and add salt to taste.  Even though there is soy sauce in the dressing, there are a lot of veggies, and they need seasoning.
  8. Enjoy right away or refrigerate for later!

**Update: The next day I whisked a little of this leftover dressing into some edamame hummus for a high-protein salad dressing.  Delicious!

5 Responses to “Sesame Soba Noodles”

  1. Boriana August 12, 2012 at 11:20 pm #

    Mmmm. “The dressing is cool, creamy and nutty”… Exactly what I’m craving.

  2. sarapolton August 12, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

    This looks great! I’m a new vegetarian, but I’m on a mostly vegan diet as well. this is a fantastic recipe! It’s cool to see someone else who’s on the same page as me when it comes to food!

  3. meetyourtreat August 13, 2012 at 1:52 am #

    This looks fantastic! I hate my kitchen too, but I try to do the best I can with what I have!

  4. Sarina @ Earthgiven September 17, 2012 at 2:29 am #

    I’m pleased to hear you’ve moved to a mostly vegan diet! I hope you’re enjoying the journey. These sesame noodles look wonderful! And I love the idea of a vegan supper club!

    • The Fancy Apron September 17, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

      Thanks for the encouragement! Your white bean and potato breakfast scramble looks so yummy – can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

