Evolution of the Fancy Apron

9 Dec

The Fancy Apron is back and better than ever!!

Over recent weeks/months, I’ve been trying to evolve my approach to cooking and eating in general – away from overly processed, quick fixes and empty calories to natural foods that fuel my body instead of weigh it down.  I’ve been inspired by people in my life who have taken their own steps towards a healthier lifestyle (yoga! juicing! vegan! – you know who you are).  I’ve been inspired by bloggers like Heidi at 101 Cookbooks and Emily at the Daily Garnish, both of whose recipes have me drooling and running to the kitchen!

So far, I’ve joined a gym (and am actually going), I’ve learned more or less how to shop at Whole Foods without breaking the bank, I’ve gotten all the processed junk out of my pantry and I’ve managed to swap most of the white flour/sugar in my life with their more natural counterparts.

Don’t take me the wrong way, I’m still me, and I still love baking and sweets!  But these days, they feel more like indulgent little treats that I can take joy in every now and then – they are not daily occurrences!  After all, baking a batch of cookies or having a slice of cake usually means that I am celebrating something – a birthday, a wedding or new baby, or a holiday – and that makes it that much sweeter!

Be on the lookout for new recipes and new and improved pictures coming soon.  Until then, happy holidays from The Fancy Apron!

8 Responses to “Evolution of the Fancy Apron”

  1. Jen December 9, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    Hooray, love this and look forward to “new beginnings”!

  2. Katie M Turner December 9, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    Crap. I bought a cheesecake sampler for our next book club :(. Can this wait until after the 17th?

    🙂

    • The Fancy Apron December 9, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

      Yum! I’m not giving up sweets completely 🙂 Looking forward to book club!

  3. Kathy Justice December 9, 2011 at 5:27 pm #

    Love your post Carla. I’ve been thinking I need to make my New Year’s resolution to cook more whole foods for my family. I am guilty of quick dining and loading up on processed junk. It’s unhealthy and overall less fun than eating something hand crafted and wholesome.Thanks for the inspiration!

    • The Fancy Apron December 9, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

      Thanks Kathy!! Looking forward to sharing some of my favorite recipes and trying out some new ones, too! You should check out the cookbook Super Natural Every Day. SO AWESOME!

  4. Kim Wike December 9, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

    Love this! If your new photography skills are anything like your cooking you’ll be amazing at it! 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

