Easy Wolfpack Cookies

16 Sep

To kick off the 2011 NCSU football season, I showed my school spirit with these beauties: Red Velvet Cookies with White Chocolate Chips!

Truth be told, I’m not a sports person, and I never have been.  No, I don’t have a favorite college basketball team (although I think I’m supposed to say NC State, I’ve never – ONCE – watched a game).  No, I’m not up to speed on the US Open Tennis Championship.  Sorry, dad, volleyball camp didn’t help me.  And don’t even ask about that co-ed softball team I joined because they didn’t have enough girls.

However, NCSU football was a big part of my college experience.  The tailgating, the cheers, the Chick-Fil-A sandwich inside the stadium, the way campus would come alive after a win.  It lifted everyones’ spirits, and you just couldn’t help but get wrapped up in the excitement.

These cookies came together in a snap.  They couldn’t be simpler, only use one bowl and only 4 ingredients.  The secret?  Boxed cake mix!  (don’t hate)  Hey, sometimes we all have corners we need to cut.  And let’s face it, Wolfpack red is not a “natural” color!

Cake Mix, Eggs, Oil – That’s it!

Be aware: When you mix together the cake mix, eggs and oil, it’s not going to look right.  You have to really work to get everything incorporated, and it kind of looks like play-doh, but keep at it!  You’re doing it right!

Time to fold in your white chocolate chips and bake!

These were pretty good and got good reviews among the tailgaters.  They were definitely cookies, not cakey at all despite being made with cake mix.  I, personally, loved the crackly top after the cookies were baked!  I imagine you could play with this recipe and come up with some equally yummy combinations: chocolate cake mix with peanut butter chips?  lemon cake mix with dried blueberries?  spice cake mix with raisins?  I would also love to experiment with using melted butter instead of oil, which I think would give them a better flavor.

Give them a whirl and see what you think!  And GO PACK!

Easy Wolfpack Cookies

From the Duncan Hines webite

  • 1 box Duncan Hines Red Velvet cake mix
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. Combine cake mix, eggs and oil.  Stir until dried ingredients are completely incorporated.
  3. Fold in white chocolate chips.
  4. Use cookie scoop or two teaspoons to scoop and drop cookie dough onto a parchment lined baking sheet.
  5. Bake for 8-12 minutes.  Cookies will crack on top.

~Carla

One Response to “Easy Wolfpack Cookies”

  1. ghuger September 16, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    I can attest, these are AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

