The Ch in Charla makes a simple dish from the garden

28 Jul

As a new wife (and now food blogger!), it’s important to me to always be prepared for the question: “What’s for dinner, honey?” But some days it’s just not possible, and as the long day gets longer, thoughts of homemade roasted butternut squash and spinach soup begin to give way to delivery pizza or Raleigh Take-Out.

Monday was one of those days.  It was rainy, my meetings were dragging on, and the week’s to-do list was getting longer..and ever so much longer.  When Charles came home and started sniffing around the kitchen, I was still on my laptop and ready to pull up the Capital Creations menu when his sniffing gave way to questioning. But something curious happened. As I continued to type away, I faintly heard a pot clang with a pan, and soon enough the smell of garlic reached me on the couch.  Curiosity killed the work-cat, and I quickly wrapped up my work for the day and went to the kitchen to see what was cooking. I came face to face with this:

Big pile of cheese!

Charles is one of those whatever’s-in-the-fridge kind of cooks.  Where I will spend hours looking through cookbooks and food blogs for recipe ideas, Charles just knows what will taste good.  A dash of this, a splash of that, some taste tests along the way, and before I know what is happening, dinner is being served!

Seriously, this entire dish came together in 15 minutes or less, and I was shocked we had these ingredients for it at our disposal! Thankfully, I made it to the kitchen just in time to snap these gems before diving in spoon first.

YUM!

It was excellent!

So, before you pick up that take-out menu try this simple fresh, tomato pasta dish that just takes a few ingredients you may have around the house, in the garden or the neighbors garden (if you’re in NC, you should). In his words, here’s how Charles did it:

–Chop onions and sauté in olive oil until lightly browned with salt and pepper (about half an onion).

–Add in roughly half a teaspoon of red pepper flakes, half a teaspoon of dried basil and 1/4 cup of kalamata olives, chopped.

–Chop and add in 2 whole tomatoes and 2 cloves of garlic.

–Add in a 1/2 cup of red wine and let the sauce simmer on high for 3-4 minutes until reduced by a third.

–Add in 1/4 cup of grated parmesan cheese.

–Boil pasta according to directions.  Add cooked pasta to sauce along with another 1/4 cup of parmesan.

–Serve with wine!

~Carla

3 Responses to “The Ch in Charla makes a simple dish from the garden”

  1. Kim Wike July 28, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    Yumm! I am definitely a “whats left in the fridge” cook too! Nice job Charla!

  2. Katie M Turner July 28, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    Geez, Carla. I didn’t know you blogged about food. I can completely relate to this post–except in the opposite way. Josh is a by-the-book cook and I’m an experimental cook. Although, last night I found him in the kitchen essentially creating sweet potato home fries. It was his first experimental dinner concoction and we had to force ourselves from overeating!

    Now that I know about this blog, I’ll look forward to more posts!!

    Katie

    • The Fancy Apron July 28, 2011 at 6:47 pm #

      Nice! Sweet potato home fries sound great! The blog is new, so we’ll see if I can keep it up!! Thanks for checking it out!

Leave a Reply

