Brown Butter Banana Bundt

18 Jul

Alright folks! This is recipe #1 for The Fancy Apron!

Let’s begin with two things you should know about me:

1) I’m in a book club.

2) I love to play hostess.

The first book club meeting I hosted at my house, I made Aged Cheddar and Apple Scones. They were divine! Truly. The book club raved! Whew. My husband even went on to declare that they were the best thing I had ever cooked! I was on hostess cloud nine.

Needless to say, when it came time for me to host the book club again, the pressure was on. I started thinking about what I would make weeks in advance. This month, we read Ishmael, a clever novel by Daniel Quinn. If you’ve read it you know the main character is a gorilla, so…can you guess? I decided on banana as the main ingredient for this dish.

Banana bread and muffins are great, but two things led me to choose something a little different. First, I had to live up to those scones, and second, I’m just married. I eagerly unwrapped my new bundt pan and cake plate from the wedding and beamed at a recipe from Baking Bites called Brown Butter Banana Bundt!

As you know, The Fancy Apron honors the passion and tradition of cooking by borrowing recipes AND coming up with our own inspirations, so here is my version of Browned Butter Banana Bundt — adapted slightly from Baking Bites, with my notes and quick kitchen improvisations.

Gather…

3/4 cup unsalted butter

1 c white sugar

½ c brown sugar (lightly packed)

3 large eggs

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

3 ripe, medium bananas, mashed (about 1 – 1 1/4 cups)

1 c whole wheat flour

1 ¾ c cake flour (what I had on hand)

2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

½ cup sour cream +  ¼ cup of almond milk (or 3/4 sour cream)

Prepare…

Preheat oven to 350F and lightly grease a 10-inch bundt pan.

In a small saucepan, brown the butter (see below for detailed instructions)

Pour butter into a small bowl and allow to cool for about 10 minutes

In a large bowl, whisk together browned butter and sugar

Beat in the eggs one by one, waiting until each has been incorporated to add the next

Beat in vanilla extract and mashed bananas

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt

Add half of the flour mixture to the butter mix and stir to combine

Add in the sour cream, followed by the remaining flour mixture

Pour batter into prepared pan

Bake…

For 45-50 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean and the top springs back when lightly pressed

Icing on the cake…

Allow cake to cool for 10 minutes in the pan, then turn cake out onto a wire rack to cool completely

Top with Browned Butter Glaze:

2 tbsp butter

2 tbsp milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

approx 1 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar

In a small skillet, brown the butter (see below). Pour into a medium bowl and allow to cool slightly. Whisk milk, vanilla and about 1/2 cup confectioners sugar into the browned butter until smooth. Gradually blend in additional confectioners sugar until you have a glaze that is smooth and thick enough to drizzle generously over the cake.

To make Browned Butter:

Melt unsalted butter in a small saucepan on the stove. Continue cooking it on medium-high heat until the butter boils. Turn heat down to medium. Don’t worry if your butter bubbles or foams; just keep cooking it. As the butter begins to brown, you will see specks of darker brown develop at the bottom of the pan. Stir these up and cook until the butter has a nice and even dark honey color. Remove from heat and transfer to another container to cool.

Once again, I was the hero of book club.

~ Carla

One Response to “Brown Butter Banana Bundt”

  1. Bori July 19, 2011 at 1:43 am #

    Thanks for the super detailed instructions! I can verify that this one was a success.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

